2003 1921 Seagrave Golf Tournament

     On September 15th 2003, 65 golfers enjoyed themselves at Poplar Creek Golf Course in San Mateo with a spirited game of team scramble to raise restoration funds for the San Mateo Firefighters’ Association 1921 Seagrave fire engine. “Over $3000.00 was raised by this tournament,” said Jeff Barile, one of its organizers, “making it the most successful golf fundraiser ever!” The beautiful day added to its success. The golfers’ fees included a box lunch made by Dominic’s restaurant and a door prize. The following prizes were awarded by the co-organizer, Mike Galvin: For the best team score of 6 under par went to Galvin, Robert Davis, Tom Fanucchi, and Frank Schaukowitch. The second best team score of 5 under par went to Dennis Kruger, Pat Wetteland, Stephen Green, and Don Russo. The longest drive went to Stephen Green. The closest to the hole at 10 feet went to Peter Deane.
The SMFFA would like to thank the many donors from the community that gave gifts for the prizes, they are:
Vic’s Restaurant
Theatre Works
Winchester Mystery House
The Van’s Restaurant
San Mateo County Coyote Point Museum
See’s Candies
San Mateo County Faire
San Mateo County Historical Society
Broadway by the Bay
Hiller Aviation Museum
Prince of Wales Pub
Guittard Chocolate
Great America
Belmont Hardware
American Musical Theatre
Trader Joe’s
     A special thanks to the City of San Mateo for their generous waiving of the green fees, Poplar Creek Golf Pro Gary Monisteri, Sharon Spener, and crew for their assistance and Maureen Barile for her help.
     Thanks to the players not mentioned above: Andy Musante, Merle Roensch, Pat Carli, Tim Carli, Mike McCann, Marty McCue, Joe Cutietta, Bill Sisack, Ben Wang, Peter Deane, Russell Solbeck, Kevin Lanex, Brian Hedley, Jeff Dick, Malcom Lanner, Dan Cabral, Victor Chamorro, Mike Day, Dick Grimsky, Richard Lewis, Keith Marshall, Bill Reilly, Kirk Snodgrass, Rocque Yballa, Bob Johnson, Dennis Creedon, Terry Pore, Greg Wootus, Kent Patterson, Gary Heap, Ron Kasper, Ken Pacini, John Moran, Gerald Telles, Leroy Hauseley, Bob “Noodles” Romanoff, Joe “Pinky” Latham, Bob Galbreath, John Giraudo, Chris Pimentel, Jim Montalvo, Tom Neylan, Christian Olazar, Jose Olazar, Dominik Mazotti, Craig Hogan, Eric Ikeda, Darrian Shimamoto, Mike Thorvund, Jon Ballack, Mike Wedlake, and Joe Barile.